March 2017 Recap

Well March was mostly about settling back into our house as my husband was away for most of February for work, and because of that I stayed at my parents with the baby. It took about a week to get into our routine but it is nice to be back home.

Apart from settling back home I managed to finally attend a mothers group meeting at the local community centre. I wasn’t aware that these meet ups were for babies that are between 0-8 weeks old so my son at 3.5 months was the odd one out. However I am glad I went as I was able to see what happens in these meet ups. I was unable to attend mothers group when my son was born as they were closed during December and January, but had they been open I think it would have been very helpful during those tough early weeks.

Mother and baby polar bears

On the bright side, at the mothers group meet up I did become aware of playgroup sessions that were also operating at the community centre. Playgroup NSW is offering free registration this year for babies under 12 months, so I registered my son and I have been attending the playgroup for babies over the last 3 weeks. Although munchkins is little, it’s nice for him to be around other kids and get used to noises and a different environment. It’s also nice to meet other mums and share experiences so I would have to say that I have enjoyed attending these sessions so far.

Taking my baby to these playgroup sessions has also unexpectedly helped in building my confidence. I have generally been hesitant to take the baby out on my own, but the other day I went to the shopping centre to buy a few things with the baby and I wasn’t stressed at all. I would not have had the confidence to do this a month ago, so I think getting out more has been beneficial to me too.

As far as my reading is concerned, I didn’t read any books this month and I’m pretty disappointed with myself about that. I want to read at least one book a month so hopefully going forward I start to achieve this goal on a regular basis.

So march ended up being a very positive month for me apart from the reading. Hope you all had a great month too!

Images: Tumblr

2 thoughts on “March 2017 Recap

  1. I need to make sure that I get onto researching mothers groups/play groups too – I have no idea about any of it! I’m assuming you wait until after birth to sign up?

    Great to hear that your confidence with taking bub out and about is improving, I imagine most new mums want to be snuggled at home most of the time for the first few months, that’s what I picture for the first few months of parenthood for us anyway.

    Mrs DDU

    Like

    • Hey Mrs DDU! I see you have changed your signature 🙂
      I didn’t know anything about these groups till after the birth so don’t worry about it. I found out about mothers group when the mid wife visited me at the 4 wk mark, so that may happen for you too. Yes I do believe you sign up for playgroup after the baby is born
      Thanks, the confidence is improving. I guess everyone is different and we all get there in the end.
      Hope the pregnancy is going well!

      Like

Leave a Reply

