September 2016 Recap

September is over already, the time really is flying by. I say that every month, lol! Here is a breakdown of what happened.

Finances

We did have a few extra expenses this month but despite this our savings rate was decent at 32%.

Our extra expenses were:

  • Renovation costs
  • My drivers license was up for renewal
  • Quarterly water bill
  • Baby items (we purchased a pram and a portable cot)
  • A few clothes for myself (I am running out of clothes that fit!)

On another positive note, I was told that I would be getting a 2% pay increase at work, yay! The increase takes effect at the beginning of October and I will get back paid from the 1st of September. So the income will get a little bump next month which is always nice 🙂

Pregnancy

I am into my third trimester now and I can’t believe that I will be meeting my little baby in just over 2 months time. I don’t feel prepared and I feel like I have a million things left to do. Hopefully everything falls into place by the time baby arrives.

We started attending antenatal classes this month and they have been really great. There are six classes in total and so far we have attended three sessions. The classes are really intimate (just five couples in our sessions), informative, friendly and we have both learnt so much in these sessions. I would highly recommend attending antenatal classes to anyone getting ready to have a baby.

I am feeling much bigger these days. I have only gained weight on my tummy which is a good thing but it’s starting to feel more uncomfortable as the days go on. I have also been experiencing some back pain especially when I sleep. During pregnancy you are meant to sleep on your left side but as I naturally sleep on my back so this has been challenging. Despite having pillows on both sides I still find myself waking up laying on my back…sigh!

But despite all the discomfort, the baby is kicking away on a regular basis, sometimes it feels like an earthquake is going on down there lol! Oh it’s just so cute ❤ ❤

Reading

Just read the one book this month.

30 days change your habits change your life by Marc Reklau

30 Days Change Your Habits Change Your Life by Marc Reklau

This book was pretty decent. It has several helpful tips on how to build habits by introducing small routines into your life. The chapters are really short too so it makes it easier to read.

Well it’s a long weekend in my part of the world this weekend and I have also taken Tuesday off, making it an extra long weekend, yay! We don’t have any plans other than to relax and do some shopping for the baby.

I hope September treated you well and hopefully October will be even better for you all 🙂

2 thoughts on “September 2016 Recap

  1. Great savings rate considering everything else you guys had going on this month 🙂

    Out of curiosity – how much are the antenatal classes? We will eventually, one day, be first time expectant parents and I wonder about these kinds of expenses when the time comes (hopefully will do an IVF cycle before the end of the year, fingers crossed).

    Jasmin

    Like

    • Hi Jasmin,
      Thanks for your comment! The antenatal classes are $175 for a 6 week course (weekly 2 hr sessions). There was another option which was over 2 full Saturdays for $195, but I preferred the 6 week option as it gives you more time to absorb the information, build a repor with the other parents and more time to ask questions. I tend to not remember as much when it’s a crash course style. We have been really enjoying them so far, learning lots of useful information. Also every hospital is different so your hospital might offer more options or less, it all depends.

      I have all my fingers and toes crossed for you! I really hope you get some good news at the of this year, best of luck!

      Like

Leave a Reply

