July 2016 Recap

It has been a while since I did a monthly recap so I thought I would get back into it as they are fun posts to write and they also help me to reflect back on the month that was.

Pregnancy Adventures

I am well and truly into my second trimester and I am happy to say that any signs of morning sickness are behind me. My appetite seems to be back but I have gone off eating red meat a fair bit. These days I prefer eating seafood, chicken and vegetables.

My bump hadn’t been very noticeable, however around the 19 week mark was when it really started to pop. I am definitely showing now and may have to invest in another pair of pants soon 🙂

Apart from that, I was really excited about our upcoming 19 week ultrasound of the baby. The big day came and the scan went for about one hour. The baby was very active throughout the scan which made it harder for the radiologist to get all the images she needed. However, it was so cute to watch baby being cheeky and my heart just melted watching him/her moving around. Baby looked oh so cute and adorable even in x-ray form ❤ ❤

The following week I had an appointment with one of my midwives. I have been assigned two midwives who will take care of me throughout my pregnancy.

The appointment went well and we did get to listen to the baby’s heartbeat which was nice. My 19 week scan results were good, the baby is developing well however the scan did show a very slight amount of fluid outside the baby’s heart. It’s nothing to be alarmed about but this may mean the baby has a virus so I had to get a blood test and another ultrasound the following week. Happy to say that the ultrasound went well and the fluid around his/her heart was very minimal. The doctor assured me that there was nothing to worry about.

Later that day I felt the baby kick for the first time! It was the best ❤

Reading

I finished reading just the one book this month.

Love Muffin and Chai Latte by Anya Wylde

Love muffin and chai latte

This book falls in the chick-lit genre and it was a light, fluffy and funny read. The characters were reasonably interesting however I did think the book dragged on more than it should have. The ending was a bit of a let down too, it was a little abrupt and unrealistic to say the least.

Taxes

My focus towards the end of the month was our taxes. Basically I’ve been trying to get organised and get all the paperwork together, and I am doing this in small steps so that I don’t get too overwhelmed.

I also need to find out if we can claim depreciation on our investment property. If the property is older than 40 years then we don’t qualify for this, so I have contacted the council and requested this information. They have been slow to get back to me (as expected), but if we do qualify I will need to get a depreciation report done by a quantity surveyor. This will no doubt delay my tax lodgement, but I just have to play the waiting game for now.

 

I’m looking forward to August, mainly because we have a little holiday booked 🙂 We are going away for about four days and this will most likely be our last holiday before baby comes. I will also be in the last few weeks my second  trimester of pregnancy this month, wow the time really is flying!

Hope you all had a fantastic July!

2 thoughts on “July 2016 Recap

  1. Are you keeping the gender of the baby a surprise? I don’t know how people do that! I’d go crazy waiting until the birth to know..

    We also have started our tax returns, finished Tristan’s in the last week so it’ll be nice to get a bit of a return :).

    Hope you have a good August!

    Jasmin

    Like

    • Nope, we found out the gender 🙂 it’s nice when you find out and helps with planning ahead too. Like you I don’t think I could wait till the birth to find out 🙂

      I have all my tax documents organised and it’s ready to be sent off to the accountant but my PHI provider is delayed in sending the tax statement to the ATO. So I am just waiting till that’s available before sending it though. That’s great that you have started yours and hopefully you get a nice return 🙂

      Thanks and hope you enjoy August too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

