How can people spend so much money?


Based on what I see on social media I am amazed at how much money people spend. I know I shouldn’t believe everything I see on social media but when I see some people post a photo almost everyday where they show off a fancy meal, a holiday they went on, their latest designer clothes, accessories and shoes, I naturally wonder if they even have $1 in their bank account.

I just can’t fathom throwing away money like that.

Then again I don’t know the whole story. Maybe they are earning high salaries and still have money left over after all the spending. I find that really hard to believe in some of these cases but I don’t have access to their bank accounts so I can’t be 100% sure πŸ™‚

Then again if it makes them happy to spend so much then who am I to judge? We are all different and just because I wouldn’t choose to spend my money in that way that doesn’t mean others don’t find happiness in doing so.

It’s not like I’m against spending money. I mean what’s the point of making money if you don’t enjoy yourself. We usually go on one holiday per year, eat out about 2-3 times a week and go to the cinema every so often (depends on what movies are out). Some people might think we are throwing away money too but these things make us happy.

I guess the key thing is that you shouldn’t spend more than you earn. If these people I see on social media still have money left over after all that spending then that’s fine. The problems start when you live beyond your means. Meanwhile I will try and be less judgemental πŸ™‚

Image: Raiyyan Exchange

3 thoughts on “How can people spend so much money?

  1. Yeahhhhh. I’ve worked with people whose partners were business owners, doctors, lawyers … so in totally different worlds financially.

    I wrote a post similar to this awhile ago (but specifically in regard to eating out). Predictably a lot of commenters were all ‘they’re probably in debt, aren’t saving’ but the fact was I was a journalist at the time, these people were in advertising almost certainly making 2x what i was or more – they may not have been saving as they could/should have but I guarantee they could afford to eat out a lot, and a lot more than I could have.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The fact that you can see when others are being wasteful with their money instead of being jealous means you’re one step closer to some fantastic financial choices (and probably already making them)!

    I find this section of your article extremely interesting though – “We usually go on one holiday per year, eat out about 2-3 times a week and go to the cinema every so often (depends on what movies are out). Some people might think we are throwing away money too but these things make us happy.” – to me, you are the “how can people spend so much money” people! We never eat out 2-3 times a week (I seriously had to re-read to check you didn’t say 2-3 times a month). We used to eat takeaway once a week (at $15 budgeted) but we have cut that out completely now and we don’t go on yearly holidays either!

    If you asked the people who spend a lot more than you, and you shake your head at, they would say “these things make us happy” – just like you said :p. So I guess ones perspective of how wasteful other people are with their money is a direct correlation of how much we ourselves “waste” money.

    Jasmin

    Like

    • That’s exactly right and why I concluded that it’s not my place to judge how people spend their money πŸ™‚
      Yeah we do eat out about 2-3 times a week and that is usually on Saturdays. After a week of work, we both like to chill out on Saturday and do the bare minimum. Every other meal is usually homemade. We might have a random lazy weeknight some weeks where we get some takeout but we don’t make it a habit. We are both health conscious so try to eat healthy the majority of the time.
      Thanks for commenting Jasmin, I always enjoy reading your comments πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

