February 2016 Recap

Last month went by pretty quickly as I look back on it. But that’s how it always feels like at the end of the month.

On the work front, things are just moving along. I am currently working on a project where we are re-architecting our system. At times it gets very confusing and I feel like I’m playing catch up with my colleagues. I’ve always had this fear of looking dumb around my peers so I tend to doubt myself when I ask questions. I think this is mostly in my head and I need to not be so hard on myself. Anyways, a work in progress.

It was my birthday this month. I didn’t do anything special on the day itself as it fell on a working day. However, my husband did surprise me with a Kindle Paper White which I just love! On the weekend we went out for dinner and watched the new Deadpool movie which was pretty good and quite funny too. So overall a pretty low key but enjoyable birthday.

Well I’m still on track with my reading goals and I finished reading 3 books this month, yay! The books I read were:

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella
(I started reading this back in January)

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella

This was a really enjoyable read. The main character, Rebecca Bloomwood is annoying yet totally lovable at the same time. You really want her to get her life on track and stop spending money she doesn’t have. Her justifications for spending and adventures along the way are hilarious! A really fun read, especially if you enjoy the chick lit genre.


Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan

This was a fun, light and interesting book which I really enjoyed. Kwan does a great job of describing the scenery, fashion and the culture of the Singapore elite. There were a number of characters and story lines going on at the same time, so it did get a little confusing at times. However each story line pulled me in and kept me intrigued and laughing along the way. My favourite story lines were of Astrid and Michael followed by the main characters of Nick and Rachel.

Although I enjoyed the book for the most part, I was disappointed with the ending. There was just not enough closure. It’s definitely setup for a sequel, however the book would have been excellent had there been a better ending.

The Zero Waste Home: 101 Ways To Reduce Waste & Save Money In Your Home by Kate Anderson

A short easy to read book which provides some creative ways to reduce waste. It really opened my eyes on the amount of waste we all throw out and the impact this has on the environment.

 

I also watched the movie Train Wreck which is pretty funny. Amy Schumer is hilarious, check out this interview she did with Ellen.

Summer is now officially over down here in the southern hemisphere 😦 It should still remain warm for the rest of the month and most of April, I hope.

Hope you all had a peaceful February πŸ™‚

(Images: Sophie Kinsella, GoodReads)

4 thoughts on “February 2016 Recap

Leave a Reply

