The Joy of Reading Books


I never understood why people read books for fun. When I was in primary school I remember reading a few novels, but it was not something that I particularly enjoyed doing.

In my teens I only read books I was forced to read at school, except for a few random ones here and there. Since my teens I would say I’ve read about a handful of books. I think it’s safe to say that prior to 2016, the last time I read a book was over 10 years ago! 😮

I set myself a goal at the start of this year to try and develop a reading habit. When I say reading habit, what I mean is to start reading books. I’m already a regular reader of articles ie: shorter pieces of writing.

So anyway, I persevered and finished my first book earlier this month, yay! I’m currently on my second book and really enjoying it.

I think I finally get what all the fuss is about!

I now understand the joy that comes with reading books. I’m really enjoying being able to escape into another world by reading different stories and learning about different characters.

I also love the GoodReads website. I love being able to discover new books to add to my “to-read” shelf, and update my progress which motivates me to keep going.

I think I’m hooked 🙂

Image: Wikipedia

2 thoughts on “The Joy of Reading Books

Leave a Reply

