January 2016 Recap

New Years Day

The new year started off with a bang, we had some friends over for a BBQ lunch and a lamb spit. Leading up to it was stressful for me as I tend to stress out when hosting lunch/dinner parties, but luckily my dear husband took on most of the stress so that helped a lot. The event was a hit, everyone enjoyed the food and I managed to give away most of the leftovers to our guests who were more than happy to take it. I hate it when food goes to waste.

The spit, nom nom, it was delicious!

lamb spit

Back to Work

After all that fun I went back to work on the 4th Jan. I had been off work since Christmas and the time off was very relaxing and a much needed break for both of us. The first week back was quiet and I managed to finally finish off a task that I had on my plate for months. I also got to nut out some solutions to a few product features so getting back to work wasn’t too painful. Of course I’m trying to keep a positive attitude going forward and be more open to learning new things. I made a start on watching some educational videos however I haven’t found the time to continue with it. I really need to dedicate at least one hour every week to do some learning.

Anniversary

About two weeks in and it was time to celebrate our 5 year wedding Anniversary! We had a lovely lunch in the city, did some shopping and then watched the movie The Revenent in the evening. Hubs surprised me with a Longchamp Le Pliage Neo Fantaisie Large Tote the day before! 🙂

Longchamp Le Pliage Neo Fantaisie

Although the print is quite pretty I wasn’t a fan of the patent black leather strap and flap, so I exchanged it and got the Longchamp Le Pliage Neo Tote in black.

Longchamp Le Pliage Neo Tote

I love it!

Now let’s talk sport..

Tennis

The summer of tennis was in full swing in January, as it always is. The Australian Open began and the womens draw started out disastrously as most of the seeds lost their matches in the early rounds. However, one of the highlights of the tournament for me was watching the progress of Zhang Shuai. Zhang won her first ever grand slam match on her 15th attempt, beating world number 2 Simona Halep in the first round! It was no fluke either as she continued to play well and made it all the way to the quarter finals. To think she was seriously considering retirement, I really hope she doesn’t.

Apart from that, it looked like Serena Williams was on track to win another slam as she didn’t seem to have much competition, however to everyone’s surprise she beaten by Angelique Kerber in the final! A great result and it’s always fantastic to see the underdog win.

The men’s draw was boring as usual with Djokovic winning yet another slam. I liked watching Milos Raonic play but unfortunately he lost to Murray in the semi finals. I didn’t watch much of the men’s draw this year.

Cricket

As for the cricket, the international series this summer was a total snooze. In the test and one day matches, neither the West Indies or India provided Australia with any real competition. The wickets were flat and gave nothing to the bowlers. I hardly watched any of it. I only watched a few Big Bash games which were far more interesting. Sydney Thunder won the Big Bash tournament which was a huge surprise considering they usually finish last and in previous seasons have failed to even win a single match. They have been a far more united team the last two years and it’s great to see them achieving great results. Hubs and I actually went to a Thunder game at the end of December, lots of fun!

Australia Day

Australia Day fell on a Tuesday this year so we took the day off on Monday as well to have an extra long weekend 🙂 We had a small BBQ with some friends of my husband and my parents. The weather was beautiful and was a lovely and relaxing day.

Finishing Off..

As the end of January was approaching I couldn’t believe the month was nearly over. Happy to say that I’m progressing well with my goals and we finished off the month by relaxing at home and doing some gardening.

Hope you all had a great start to 2016!

Leave a Reply

