Some Goals for 2016

A goal without a plan is just a wish

Well I’m not really into New Years resolutions, mainly because I usually forget about them and stop caring. However, after some thought I’ve decided to set two goals for myself this year. Both goals are very achievable but does require some definite effort on my part. Here they are:

Track Spending

I was tracking our spending last year but lost motivation at times and ended up throwing in the towel towards the end. So this year I am dead keen to do it every month. I tried out a few different apps at the end of last year but finally came back to the app I was already using, which was the TrackMySpend app by ASIC’s Money Smart. I have set myself a reminder on my phone for 9pm every night to enter our daily expenses and so far it’s been going well.

Read Books

I actually read a fair bit but it’s mostly articles on the web. I love reading articles about personal finance, fashion, lifestyle and various other topics, however I have never been into reading books as I get bored quickly and lose interest. For years I just told myself that reading books wasn’t for me and I was more suited to reading shorter articles. However, lately I have come to realise that reading books can be very beneficial especially for your memory, is a good stress reliever and improves concentration. I discussed this with a friend and he was already well aware of all these benefits. He gave me some good advice which was that I should basically start to train my brain to read books. When he told me this it was like an “aha” moment lol. It just never occurred to me to do that, I had always brushed it off as being “not for me” and I was also not aware of the benefits.

So anyway my goal is to start reading books this year. I have started reading my first book and I’m more than half way through it. I’m reading “The Secret Dream World of a Shopaholic” which is a popular series by Sophie Kinsella.

The Secret Dreamworld of a Shopaholic

I seriously don’t mind the chick lit genre and so far it has been enjoyable. I bought this book over a year ago and as usual I started to read it and then just lost interest. But this time I’m just persevering and the more I read the more I seem to be getting into it. The key is not to give up. I’m tracking my progress on Good Reads and I’ve also set a goal on Good Reads to read 5 books this year. That might seem like a tiny number for some, but for me that would be huge. Let’s see how I go 🙂

Do you set new years resolutions every year? Do you usually achieve them or forget about them during the year?

Images: (Sophie Kinsellamedicalpracticesuccess.org)

Leave a Reply

