Project Runway Season 14 Wrap Up

Project Runway Season 14 Contestants

Project Runway Season 14 Contestants

A few weeks ago I wrote a recap article where I predicted Swapnil to be the winner of Project Runway Season 14. Well that didn’t happen…in fact the very next episode he was eliminated. I still believe that he had the talent to go further, but it seemed like he lost motivation, at least that was how it was portrayed on TV.

The Finale

The show has now ended and I’m definitely surprised at the result. I did not expect Ashley to win the competition. She was a bit up and down through out, but I definitely enjoyed her final collection. It was a beautiful and the first plus size collection on Project Runway. The collection was ready to wear and I could definitely envision any woman wanting to wear her clothes, they were beautiful. But was it high fashion? In my opinion, no.

My favorite designer was Edmond and I wasn’t thrilled when he was eliminated just before the finale. The judges should not have eliminated him when he was such a strong designer up to that point. It looked so setup because Tim Gunn used his “Tim Gunn Save” and brought him back. It was so predictable and looked like they did it to just create drama. Anyways, I liked his final collection, he had a few stunning pieces and his clothes looked very expensive. I was going for Edmond, yet the judges placed him third, wasn’t expecting that.

Kelly’s collection was definitely interesting and different. I wouldn’t have minded if she won, she definitely would have deserved it if she did.

Candice’s collection lost its way no thanks to the judges. The judges told her to tone it down and change several of her pieces, 48 hours before the runway show. I think this resulted in Candice losing her way a bit unfortunately. Edmond was in the same situation but he came out of it a little better than Candice did. I think the original collection that she intended to show would have been far more interesting than the one she showed.

The Reunion

The Reunion episode was interesting as always. Back in one of the team challenges, four members from one of the teams – the girls team, basically threw one of their team members Ashley “under the bus”. This conflict was brought up again and I have to say these four “mean girls” were still in denial. It was on TV for the world to see and even the other team (the boys) agreed that these girls were picking on Ashley. Seriously, just say sorry and move on! Ashley ultimately got the best revenge by winning the competition, way to go Ashley!

Here are some of my favourite looks from this season:

From the Finale

pr14-ep14-en6

Edmond

pr14-ep14-en9

Edmond

pr14-ep14-cc1

Candice

pr14-ep14-at1

Ashley

From the Challenges

1512143808067628718

Edmond – Unconventional challenge

pr14-ep7-kd

Kelly – Unconventional challenge

pr14-ep7-at

Ashley – Unconventional challenge

pr14-ep11-en

Edmond – Avant Garde challenge

pr14-ep11-kd

Kelly – Avant Garde challenge

pr14-ep8-kd

Kelly – Broadway challenge

To wrap up, I found season 14 to be a very entertaining season which had some very funny and talented designers. I can’t wait for season 15!

(Images: MyLifetime)

Leave a Reply

