For the Love of Movies

Movies

I love watching movies, however for the majority of this year I just haven’t found the time to watch as many as I would have liked to. Last year I managed to watch several movies. My commute to work everyday was about one hour on the train, so watching movies and TV shows on my tablet during the commute was a nice way to pass the time. I kept a list of every movie I watched too, just for fun. Here it is:

Movies Watched in 2014

  1. Oceans 11
  2. The Dark Knight
  3. X-Men: First Class
  4. X-Men: Days of Future Past
  5. Confessions of a Shopoholic
  6. Star Trek (2009)
  7. Star Trek into Darkness
  8. Edge of Tomorrow
  9. He’s Just Not That Into You
  10. Knocked Up
  11. Transformers: Age of Extinction
  12. Up in the Air
  13. Silver Linings Playbook
  14. The Heat
  15. Lance Armstrong – Stop at Nothing (documentary)
  16. Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
  17. Bridesmaids
  18. Easy A
  19. Pacific Rim
  20. Divergent
  21. Begin Again
  22. Marley & Me
  23. Guardians of the Galaxy
  24. Boyhood

I managed to watch quite a few films in 2014. Looking at this list, I would say I enjoyed the majority of these films. The only disappointing film for me was Boyhood. I really didn’t understand the hype around this movie. The film took 12 years to make, they filmed every year with the same actor playing the role of the young boy from when he was 6 years old till about 18 or so. There was plenty of hype about this, however most of the actors were the same, including the actress who played the young girl. But generally speaking the movie was very blah for me, it was nominated for several awards however I just didn’t understand why it was popular.

Coming back to this year, well I moved towards the end of last year so it now takes me about 30 minutes to commute to work. My journey is also broken up into two parts, so there is just no time to watch anything. Hence my movie list for this year has been considerably shorter. Don’t get me wrong though, I love the shorter commute to work 🙂 Anyways here’s the list for 2015.

Movies Watched in 2015

  1. The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
  2. Interstellar
  3. Mocking Jay
  4. Mad Max – Fury Road
  5. Captain America – The First Avenger
  6. Captain America – The Winter Soldier
  7. I am Legend
  8. Ant Man
  9. Mission Impossible – Rogue Nation
  10. The Avengers – Age of Ultron
  11. The Martian

Looking at this list, I loved all of these films except for Mission Impossible – Rogue Nation and I am Legend. Mission Impossible wasn’t terribly bad, it just didn’t have a good story line. The previous Mission Impossible film – Ghost Protocol was so much better. I am Legend was just OK for me, the story wasn’t thrilling and the ending was a bit sad too. I definitely didn’t love this movie.

What movies have you enjoyed watching this year?

(Image: Offer Pop)

Leave a Reply

