A Decluttering Journey

declutter - goodbye stuff

The best way to declutter I feel is to move house. I know this from experience and I’m not saying that in order to declutter you must move house because that is just not practical. Who really wants to move anyway? I found the whole process to be pretty stressful however on the bright side it did give me the motivation to declutter.

We moved house at the end of last year and with that brought a purpose for both myself and my husband to go through our clothes, shoes, furniture and various other things and get rid of what we didn’t wear or need anymore. It’s amazing how much stuff you can accumulate without even realising and hubs and I are definitely not hoarders by any means.

We decided early on that we were going to purchase a few new items of furniture for the new house so we needed to get rid of some of our existing furniture. So I listed these items online on eBay and Gum Tree and I managed to sell pretty much everything I wanted to! Also sold our dining table and a book shelf to one of my neighbours which was lucky.

In the end I managed to net a cool $732.08 which I was very pleased with 🙂

As far as unwanted clothes and shoes, we donated everything to charity. My mum has a friend who does a lot of charity work for her local church and they always welcome donations. I have donated clothes through her in the past and would happily do so in the future.

I also have a whole bunch of craft supplies that I’m still trying to unload. I managed to donate a few things and sell some items on Ebay too, however I have found the latter to be more difficult especially because postage costs are so high these days. This project is still ongoing.

It has been several months since we moved and I am happy to say that I have continually tried to maintain having less stuff. With any item I think of purchasing, I think about if I really need it before buying. I still have more things to get rid of and I will do so in time. Decluttering is an ongoing process that’s for sure!

(Image: Kari Patterson)

Leave a Reply

